PANEL DISCUSSION #2 – Facing Differences: Residencies Beyond the Art World

Wednesday, June 24, 2020 PANEL DISCUSSION #2 – Dr. Emmanuel ORTEGA (USA), Moderator Facing Differences: Residencies Beyond the Art World 9:00 AM Mexico City CDT (10:00 AM EDT, 7:00 AM PDT, 4:00 PM Paris, 5:00 PM Dar es Salaam, 7:45…

PANEL DISCUSSION #2 – Facing Differences: Residencies Beyond the Art World

Source

0
(0)

Wednesday, June 24, 2020
PANEL DISCUSSION #2 – Dr. Emmanuel ORTEGA (USA), Moderator
Facing Differences: Residencies Beyond the Art World
9:00 AM Mexico City CDT (10:00 AM EDT, 7:00 AM PDT, 4:00 PM Paris, 5:00 PM Dar es Salaam, 7:45 PM Kathmandu, 10:00 PM Taipei, 11:00 PM Tokyo)
Panelists: Shaarbek AMANKUL, Б’Art Contemporary (Kyrgyzstan) – Kaitlyn D. HAMILTON & Joni JUDÉN, Tuo Tuo (Finland) – Jupiter PRADHAN, Space A (Nepal) – Pooja SOOD, Khoj (India)

It is indisputable that artist residencies have become crucial nodes for the art world, as they have expanded worldwide and exponentially in numbers in the last decades. Artist residencies provide much needed infrastructure and networks for the cultural sector (Smith, 2012); therefore, they have become sites of production and experimentation, spaces for research and sharing, and places where multiple artists and diverse ideas circulate. Nevertheless, residencies are also burdened with the weight of history; they are subject to economic, geopolitical, and ideological pressures while constantly being reminded of the challenges of self-sustainability (Guevara, 2019). Although residency models and their roles are numerous and diverse, especially considering their contexts and missions, anyone around the world who engages with them is confronted with the question of difference. In the work of Audre Lorde, we find that differences should not be understood as tolerance, but as necessary to generate power and actively “be” in the world; in her own words, “Divide and conquer, in our world, must become define and empower.” What is the function of residencies as spaces where communities intersect and negotiate difference? How can we achieve sustainability without sacrificing our ethical commitment to our communities?

0 / 5. 0